Last Words and Dramatic Scenes


Joseph Strug Concert Hall Thu, May 30 7:30 PM


Tonight’s concert is bookended by the last major chamber works by Schumann and Mozart: moving, eloquent, and utterly satisfying. Also on the program: the premiere of an operatic scene for solo clarinet by Nova Scotia’s John Plant, especially written for Dominic Desautels; Miklós Rózsa’s spectacular violin duet; and Ana Sokolovic’s stirring Serbian Tango!

Robert Schumann: Märchenerzählungen, Op. 132

Dominic Desautels, clarinet
Sharon Wei, viola
John Novacek, piano

John Plant: La Parola Scenica

Dominic Desautels, clarinet

Miklós Rózsa: Sonata for Two Violins

Kerson Leong, violin
Mark Fewer, violin

Ana Sokolovic: Serbian Tango

Airi Yoshioka, violin
Joe Phillips, bass
Joseph Petric, accordion
Simon Docking, piano

W. A. Mozart: String Quintet in E-flat Major, K. 614

Gwen Hoebig, violin
Mark Lee, violin
Isaac Chalk, viola
Sharon Wei, viola
Blair Lofgren, cello