Flight of the Concord


Joseph Strug Concert Hall Tue, Jun 4 7:30 PM


The great Astor Piazzolla’s tribute to his long-time double bass player Enrique “Kicho” Díaz opens tonight’s concert, followed by Shostakovich’s exuberant and elegant suite of his film score for The Gadfly. To celebrate the 150th anniversary of Charles Ives’ birth, Louise Bessette then brings us a rare performance of his monumental “Concord” sonata, a tribute to Emerson, Thoreau, and other American visionaries.

Astor Piazzolla: Kicho
Joe Phillips, bass
Peter Allen, piano

Dmitri Shostakovich: Suite from The Gadfly

Gwen Hoebig, violin
Mary-Elizabeth Brown, violin
Isaac Chalk, viola
Blair Lofgren, cello
Joe Phillips, double bass
David Moroz, piano

Charles Ives: Piano Sonata No. 2 (Concord, Mass., 1840–60)
Louise Bessette, piano