To Fall in Love



DECC Symphony Hall Sat, Apr 9 7:00 PM


Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel 

Overture in C 
Poulenc Concerto for Two Pianos 
Diana Shapiro & Stanislava Varshavski  
Bruckner Symphony No. 4, Romantic
Fall in love with the originality of Fanny Mendelssohn’s Overture in C, a piece that challenged conventions at a time when only men’s compositions were recognized. Our program continues with a lively conversation between dual pianos and the orchestra in  Poulenc’s  Concerto for Two Pianos. Concluding the concert is Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4, his Romantic Symphony. From its hushed beginnings, with whispering strings and the iconic horn solo, it grows into a finale that will leave you breathless.