Film Info
Event Type:
Runtime:2 hr, 16 min
Release Year:2022
Production Country:Columbia
Original Language:Spanish with English subtitles
Cast/Crew Info
Director:Apichatpong Weerasethakul


This screening is sold out! All general public and student tickets have been claimed. No waitlist available.

Join celebrated director and School of the Art Institute of Chicago alum Apichatpong Weerasethakul (MFA 1998, HON 2011) for a screening of his award-winning MEMORIA. Mysterious and transfixing, the film stars Tilda Swinton as an expat scientist living in Colombia who is suddenly beset by sounds only she can hear. In her quest to find the source of these sonic disturbances, she travels through lush countrysides, busy Bogotá streets, and austere brutalist architecture, chasing ghosts, missing persons, and the reverberating echoes of the past. The film, which is only available to experience in theaters, will be followed by an extended conversation with Weerasethakul, who will discuss the ideas and experiences that drive his practice.  


Presented in partnership with Northwestern University’s Department of Radio/TV/Film and the Block Museum of Art. This event is free for SAIC and Northwestern students. 


Apichatpong Weerasethakul is recognized as one of the most original voices in contemporary cinema. His works draw upon the interplay between lived and cinematic time, Buddhism, and science fiction to explore memory and complex social issues. Weerasethakul’s features, short films, and installations have gained widespread international recognition and numerous awards, including the Cannes Palme d’Or in 2010 for UNCLE BOONMEE WHO CAN RECALL HIS PAST LIVES, the Cannes Jury Prize in 2021 for MEMORIA and in 2014 for TROPICAL MALADY, and the Cannes Un Certain Regard Award in 2002 for BLISSFULLY YOURS. His installations have been exhibited and collected by institutions around the world. He is the recipient of the Sharjah Biennial Prize, the prestigious Yanghyun Prize in South Korea, and the 2016 Principal Prince Claus Award from the Netherlands.